Requirements for marriage in Alaska
If you plan to get married in Alaska, and you want to know the requirements for marriage in Alaska, how much it costs, the necessary documents, keep reading that here I will tell you all about marriage in Alaska.
In order to get married in Alaska, you must obtain a marriage license.
This license has a cost.
The marriage license application fee in Alaska is $ 60.00,
To get married in Alaska it is required that both parties must present a government issued photo ID (such as a driver's license, state issued ID, passport, military ID).
• A requirement for licensing is that both parties must sign in person and be sworn in by a licensing officer or notary or Vital Records office, or an Alaskan court if you are outside of Juneau or Anchorage.
• The age requirement for marriage in Alaska is that both parties must be 18 years of age or older for a license to be issued without parental or guardian consent (exception: applicant under 18 and member of the military active) duty).
• The requirement for the 16 or 17 year old bride and groom is that their legal parents or guardians must provide their written consent along with the party's birth certificate that has been issued in the last 30 days.
• If either of the bride and groom is 14 or 15 years old, the requirement is that there must be a court order allowing the bride and groom to marry.
• For the bride and groom who were divorced within the last 60 days, it is a requirement to present a copy of their Decree / Order of Divorce.
• The kinship requirement under Alaska law is that marriages between two people more closely related than first cousins are prohibited. [See AS 25.05.021 (2)]
(1) it is a requirement that neither of the bride and groom have a living husband or wife; or
(2) the parties to the proposed marriage are more closely related to each other than the fourth degree of consanguinity, whether full blood or mixed blood, calculated according to the rules of civil law.
Grooms who qualify for marriage in Alaska will receive the marriage license in the following timeframe:
The license will generally be available for pickup after 3 business days. However, at present, the wait for a marriage license is two weeks.
. Marriage licenses will be mailed
Once the application is complete, send your application and fee to the office closest to where the ceremony will take place.
The Vital Records Office in Juneau or Anchorage; or an Alaskan court.
Court locations can be found here: Alaska Marriage License is only valid for 90 days.
Once the marriage has been celebrated and all parties have signed the license, you must return the original License to a local Vital Records Office (in person or by mail) to register with the State of Alaska.
The MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE has an additional cost of $ 30.00.