Marriage Requirements in Broward County, FL, Fort Lauderdale
In order to get married in Broward County, FL, in Fort Lauderdale, Pembroke Pines, Hollywood, Miramar, Coral Springs, Pompano Beach, Davie, Plantation, Sunrise, Deerfield Beach, and other cities in this county,.
• It is required first to have a marriage license. Such a marriage license is obtained through the County Clerk's office. Here is information on all the marriage requirements in this county.
To apply for a marriage license in Broward County, the bride and groom must meet the following requirements:
• How long is the marriage license valid in Florida?
• How much does a marriage license cost in Broward?
• Where is the marriage license obtained in Broward valid?
• What are the requirements for foreign marriage in Broward?
• Where are the offices to apply for a marriage license in Broward?
• The bride and groom must be over 18 years of age, and both bride and groom must be present.
• The marriage must take place in Florida.
• Grooms who are residents of the state of Florida can choose to attend a premarital course from a registered provider or wait a mandatory period of 3 days before the marriage license becomes effective.
• Non-Florida resident grooms are exempt from any waiting period for the marriage license.
• The bride and groom must attach a valid federal or state government photo identification card and this document must provide the correct legal name, date of birth, and applicant's signature.
• The types of photo ID cards that are accepted are:
• Driver's license (US state or government)
• US military ID.
• State identification card (state or US government)
• Foreign registration card.
• Only bride and groom who have a Social Security number will need to provide their number during the marriage license application process.
• A blood test is not required.
• You do not need to be a resident of this county or the state of Florida to obtain a marriage license.
• There is no requirement to have witnesses for the marriage in Florida.
• Marriage licenses are for use within the state of Florida.
• The validity of the marriage license is sixty (60) days from the effective date.
• The bride and groom should have read The Family Law Manual before obtaining the marriage license.
• If either of the bride and groom has been previously married, the exact date of the last divorce, death or annulment must be provided.
• Bride and groom who are over 17 years of age: in addition to the requirements listed above, the following documents must be presented when one or both applicants are within this age group:
• the consent of both parents or a legal guardian. If one of the parents is deceased, a certified copy of the death certificate is required. Proof of age and identity of parents is required. This can be done with a certified copy of the person's birth certificate. If the parents' names do not match, additional testing may be required.
• Also, a person who is at least 17 years old can marry only if the other party is not more than two years older.
• The bride and groom under the age of 17: according to FS 741.04, it is prohibited to issue a license to anyone under the age of 17.
Bride and groom under the age of 17 must first obtain authorization from the BROWARD COUNTY COURT IN FORT LAUDERDALE, ROOM 02460.
• Can you apply for a marriage license online in Broward?
The marriage license to get married in Florida can be applied for online or in person.
Both bride and groom must submit the request at the same time via video conference.
After applying for their license online, the bride and groom will receive an email with instructions on how to schedule an appointment for the video conference and pay for their license online.
These are the requirements for video conferencing:
• Each groom must have their own working camera and microphone device for video conferencing. She cannot share a device during the session.
• Acceptable devices include Windows or Mac computers, iPads, or Android tablets running the latest version of Google Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Edge, or Safari web browsers. Smartphones can be used, but are not recommended.
• high speed internet access.
• Both bride and groom will be asked to show their driver's licenses during the video conference.
The standard marriage license fee is $ 86.00 and includes a 3-day waiting period before a marriage ceremony can be performed.
A civil marriage ceremony can be performed at the Marriage Division after the license becomes effective for an additional cost of thirty ($ 30.00) dollars.
If you were previously married, the exact date of death, divorce, or last marriage annulment is required.
Mid-rise building of the Central Palace of Justice
540 SE 3rd Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Directions to this location
2nd floor, room: 02460
8:00 am - 3:30 pm
North Regional Courthouse
South Regional Courthouse
West Regional Courthouse
Brenda D. Forman
Secretary of the court
17th Judicial Circuit of Broward County
• Coconut Creek, Cooper City, Coral Springs
• Dania Beach, Davie, Deerfield Beach
• Fort Lauderdale
• Hallandale Beach, Hillsboro Beach, Hollywood
• Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, Lauderdale Lakes, Lauderhill, Lazy Lake, Lighthouse Point
• Margate, Miramar
• North Lauderdale
• Oakland Park
• Parkland, Pembroke Park, Pembroke Pines, Plantation, Pompano Beach
• Sea Ranch Lakes, Southwest Ranches, Sunrise
• Weston, West Park, Wilton Manors• The video conference will take place with the Cisco WebEx Meetings application.
• Once the video conference has taken place, you will receive an email to download and print your marriage license.