Requirements for marriage in NORTH CAROLINA.

Requirements for marriage in NORTH CAROLINA.


If you are thinking of getting married in North Carolina, and you want to know what are the requirements for marriage in North Carolina, how much does the marriage cost, who qualifies to marry, keep reading that here I tell you all about the marriage requirements in North Carolina .


Can you marry your family in North Carolina?


Can you get married without a marriage license in North Carolina?


Do you have to be a resident to get married in North Carolina?


What does it take to get married in North Carolina?


To get married in North Carolina it is required that the bride and groom meet the requirements of the marriage law.


Can you get married without a marriage license in North Carolina?

No, it is not possible to get married without a marriage license in North Carolina.

In order to get married in North Carolina, you must obtain a marriage license.

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 51-6


On where to get a marriage license in North Carolina:

Marriage licenses are obtained from the registry of deeds.


The Marriage Department at the Registrar of Deeds Office is located at 720 E 4 th Street, County Court & Office Building, Room 105, Charlotte NC 28202.

704-336-2443.

1. Onslow Registry of Deeds


Postal address:

109 Old Bridge Street

Jacksonville, NC 28540


Physical address:

602 Anne Street

Jacksonville, NC 28540



Telephone:

(910) 347-3451


Fax:

(910) 347-3340


About getting the marriage license online:

The application for the marriage license is possible online.

About the Marriage License Fee:

The North Carolina marriage license fee is $ 60.

On the requirement of free consent. The free consent of the bride and groom is the main requirement for marriage in North Carolina.

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 51-1

• About the age requirement. To get married in North Carolina the age requirement is that the couple must be 18 years of age or older.

 (a1) Persons over the age of 16 and under the age of 18 can marry a person not older than four years, and the registry of deeds can issue a license for the marriage, only after it has been registered in the registry of scriptures. A certified copy of an order issued by a district court authorizing the marriage as provided in GS 51-2.1, or a written consent to the marriage, such consent has been signed by the appropriate person as follows:

(1) By a parent who has full or joint legal custody of the minor party; or

(2) By a person, agency or institution that has legal custody or serves as guardian of the minor party.

Such written consent will not be required for an emancipated minor if a certificate of emancipation issued in accordance with Article 35 of Chapter 7B of the General Statutes or a certified copy of a final decree or certificate of emancipation of this or any other jurisdiction.

• About the residency requirement. Do you have to be a resident to get married in North Carolina? No, you do not have to be a resident of North Carolina to marry. You can get a marriage license and get married in any county in North Carolina.

•. I live in another country. Can I get married in North Carolina?


For foreigners there is no impediment to marry in North Carolina.

• About the identification requirement. A photo ID is required to get married in North Carolina.

•         Current driver's license;

• State or military identification card;

•         Valid passport;

• Or other government-issued photo identification.

Applicants who do not have a U.S. Social Security number, or those who are not eligible for one, must submit a notarized Social Security Ineligibility / Absence Affidavit when they appear to apply for their marriage license.

• About the blood test requirement. In North Carolina, you don't need a blood test to get married.

• About marriage with relatives. Can you marry your family in North Carolina? No, it is not possible to marry the family in North Carolina.

All marriages between two people closer to relatives than first cousins, or between double first cousins, or between a man under 16 years of age and a woman, or between a woman under 16 years of age and any man, or between persons. either of whom has a husband or wife living at the time of said marriage, or between people who are physically powerless at that time, or between people who are unable to contract at that time due to lack of will or understanding, are void.


N.C. Gen. Stat. § 51-3

• On the requirement of the presence of both grooms. If either of the bride and groom cannot appear personally in the registry of deeds to obtain the marriage license, the other bridegroom may appear with an affidavit from the absent groom.


N.C. Gen. Stat. § 51-8.2

• On the requirement to have witnesses for the marriage. It is a requirement to have two witnesses at the marriage ceremony.

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 51-6

• About the ceremony.

A ceremony is required for marriage in North Carolina.

• Who is authorized to perform the marriage ceremony in North Carolina? In North Carolina the following persons are authorized to perform marriages: • (a) according to Ala. Code § 30-1-7, Generally. Marriages may be solemnized by any licensed minister of the gospel in regular fellowship with the Christian church or society of which the minister is a member; by an active or retired judge of the Supreme Court, the Court of Criminal Appeals, the Court of Civil Appeals, any circuit court, or any district court within this state; by a judge of any federal court; or by an active or retired probate judge.

(1) one. In the presence of an ordained minister of any religious denomination, a minister authorized by a church, or a magistrate; and. With the consequent declaration of the minister or magistrate that the persons are husband and wife; or (2) In accordance with any mode of solemnization recognized by any religious denomination or indigenous nation or tribe recognized at the federal or state level.


• On the Return of the marriage license for registration.

 

• The officiant is responsible for returning both completed copies of the Marriage License, within 10 days after the ceremony, to the Deed Registry Office that issued the marriage license.


Marriages between persons of the same sex are not valid

Marriages, whether created by common law, contracted or performed outside of North Carolina, between persons of the same sex are not valid in North Carolina.



N.C. Gen. Stat. § 51-1.2

 

Comentarios

Entradas populares de este blog

REQUISITOS MATRIMONIO EN Pennsylvania

REQUISITOS MATRIMONIO Connecticut LICENCIA

REQUISITOS MATRIMONIO Massachusetts LICENCIA