Requirements for marriage in SOUTH CAROLINA
Requirements for marriage in SOUTH CAROLINA.
If you are thinking of getting married in South Carolina, and you want to know what are the requirements for marriage in South Carolina, how much does it cost, who qualifies to marry, keep reading that here I will tell you all about the requirements of marriage in South Carolina.
Can you marry your family in South Carolina? Can you marry without a marriage license in South Carolina? Do you have to be a resident to marry in South Carolina? What is required to marry in South Carolina?
Marriage in South Carolina requires that the bride and groom meet the requirements of marriage law.
Can you get married without a marriage license in South Carolina?
No, it is not possible to get married without a marriage license in South Carolina.
S.C. Code § 20-1-210: It will be illegal for any person to marry within this State without first obtaining a license as provided.
In order to get married in South Carolina, you must obtain a marriage license.
On where to get a marriage license in South Carolina:
A marriage license cannot be issued unless a written request has been made to the probate judge, or in Darlington and Georgetown counties, the clerk of the court issuing the license, at least twenty-four hours prior to issuance of the license. S.C. Code § 20-1-220
Probate Court Marriage Licensing Division
Addresses 100 Broad Street, Suite 469
Charleston, SC 29401
Marriage License Secretary
Regina D. LeBlanc
Probate Clerk of the Court Engagement Division
Mon. - Fri. 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
About getting the marriage license online:
In South Carolina you can get a license online.
If you have more questions, call Portia Geathers at (843) 958-5183, Regina LeBlanc at (843) 277-5674, or Judge Irv Condon at (843) 817-2039.
Online application for marriage license
TWO business days after submitting the completed application, you will receive your Marriage License via email to print and use along with an instruction sheet.
About the Marriage License Fee:
In South Carolina the cost of a marriage license is seventy dollars ($ 70) with a credit card plus a transaction fee.
About the Premarital Preparation Course Discount: The bride and groom who complete a qualified prenuptial preparation course and have a South Carolina marriage license attesting to completion of the course will be entitled to receive a non-refundable state tax credit of fifty dollars for only this time. S.C. Code § 20-1-230.
On the requirement of free consent. The free consent of the bride and groom is the main requirement for marriage in South Carolina.
• About the age requirement. To get married in South Carolina, the age requirement is that the couple must be 18 years of age or older.
“Anyone under the age of sixteen is not capable of entering into a valid marriage, and all marriages celebrated thereafter by such persons are void ab initio. A de facto marriage from now on by a person under the age of sixteen is void ab initio. " S.C. Code § 20-1-100
A marriage license should not be issued when any of the applicants is under the age of sixteen. When any of the applicants is between the ages of sixteen and eighteen and that applicant resides with the father, mother, other relative or guardian, the probate judge or other official authorized to issue marriage licenses will not issue a marriage license until provide you with an oath. Affidavit signed by the father, mother, other relative or guardian giving consent to the marriage.
S.C. Code § 20-1-250
• About the residency requirement. Do you have to be a resident to get married in South Carolina? No, you do not have to be a South Carolina resident to marry. You can get a marriage license and get married in any county in South Carolina.
•. I live in another country. Can I get married in South Carolina?
* Anyone who is not a citizen of the United States, the Court must receive a copy of their Valid Passport or valid VISA, with their Alien Registration Number.
• About the identification requirement. A photo ID is required to get married in South Carolina.
• Current driver's license;
• State or military identification card;
• Valid passport;
• Or other photo identification and
mitigated by the government.
Persons under the age of eighteen must present a birth certificate, or a baptism or hospital certificate that has been issued and dated within one year after their birth, or a certified copy thereof, showing that they are of legal age. “People applying for marriage licenses instead of presenting birth certificates or hospital or baptism certificates can present the following: military service identification card; selective service identification card; passports and visas. " S.C. Code § 20-1-260
"All persons over eighteen years of age and under twenty-five years of age must provide documentary evidence to the probate judge or any other official authorized by law to issue marriage licenses that will demonstrate the applicant's age to the satisfaction of said probate judge." S.C. Code § 20-1-270
• About the blood test requirement. In South Carolina, you don't need a blood test to get married.
• About marriage with relatives. Can you marry your family in South Carolina? No, it is not possible to marry the family in South Carolina.
According to S.C. Code § 20-1-10 relatives who cannot marry are:
No man shall marry his mother, grandmother, daughter, granddaughter, stepmother, sister, grandfather's wife, son's wife, grandson's wife, wife's mother, wife's grandmother, wife's daughter, wife's granddaughter, brother's daughter, sister's daughter, father's sister, mother's sister, or another man.
No woman shall marry her father, grandfather, son, grandson, stepfather, brother, grandmother's husband, daughter's husband, granddaughter's husband, husband's father, husband's grandfather, husband's son, husband's grandson, son of the brother, the son of the sister, the brother of the father, the brother of the mother, or another woman.
• On the requirement of the presence of both grooms. You are not required to appear in person in court to register the marriage.
• About the ceremony.
• Who is authorized to perform the marriage ceremony in South Carolina?
According to S.C. Code § 20-1-20, the persons who can perform marriage ceremonies are
Only ministers of the Gospel, Jewish rabbis, officers authorized to administer oaths in this State, and the head or spiritual leader of a Native American Indian entity recognized by the South Carolina Commission on Minority Affairs pursuant to Section 1- 31-40 are authorized to administer a marriage ceremony in this state.
• About the Return of the marriage license.
The marriage license must be returned to the official who issued it, within 15 days of the marriage.
On the Prohibition of same-sex marriage:
According to S.C. Code § 20-1-15: Marriage between persons of the same sex is void ab initio and contrary to the public order of this State.